Grand Isle, the new, self-released CD by Steve Riley and the Mamou Playboys arrived in the mail yesterday.  Last July I sent $18 by PayPal for the privilege of supporting the creation of this recording.  It’s in one of those all-paper covers, not a plastic jewel box.  They’re not using as much plastic, so that’s good, though it is shrink wrapped.  There are 12 tracks:

  1. Danser sans comprehendre / Dancing without understanding (Steve Riley, Jean Arceneaux)
  2. Chatterbox (Quintron, Miss Pussycat)
  3. C’est l’heure pour changer / This is the time for change (Steve Riley)
  4. C’est ennuyant / It’s lonely (Camey Doucet)
  5. Non, je ne regrette rien / No regrets (Michel Vaucaire, Charles Dumont)
  6. Pierre (Sam Broussard)
  7. Valse de chagrin/ Waltz of sorrow (Morris LeBlanc)
  8. Grand Isle (David Greely, Sam Broussard)
  9. Lyons Point (Steve Riley)
  10. C’est trop / Too much (David Greely, Jean Arceneaux)
  11. Honest Papas love their mamas better (Zompa, de Cesare)
  12. Au revoir (Sam Broussard)

That’s seven originals and five remakes.  I’ll write more about it later.  It is available to order now from the Steve Riley and the Mamou Playboys web site.  Street release is set for late February 2011.